Board of directors

BioPorto’s Board of Directors consists of four member elected by the General Meeting. Collectively, the Board possesses the following competencies:
• Extensive business expertise (economic and financial matters, sales and marketing, IPR, licensing and negotiation)
• Insight into the biotech industry
• International experience

Chairman of the board

Mr. Thomas Magnussen

MBA from INSEAD and PhD and MSc from the Technical University of Denmark

Chairman and Board member since 2013 

Thomas Magnussen is Chairman and co-founder and partner in QuantumWise A/S and Zylinc A/S respectively as well as an entrepreneur in the high-tech space, engaging in start-up companies with global business scope. Thomas Magnussen has experience in commercialization strategies and from industries including nanotechnology, ICT and medtech.

  LinkedIN Profile

Vice chairman of the board

Mr. Torben A. Nielsen

DIEUs top management education, VL and banking education 

Board member since 2013 

Torben A. Nielsen has for more than 25 years held senior positions in the financial sector. From 1998 to 2008 he was member of the executive management in Sydbank A/S responsible for asset management, capital markets, treasury, foreign and several other business areas, and from 2008 to 2012 he was the CEO of BankInvest A/S. Concurrently, he has held several national and international board positions, including at NASDAQ OMX. Of a total of 30 years in the financial sector, of which 5 years in New York and London, Torben A. Nielsen built and managed businesses at home and abroad in all relevant commercial business areas in the financial sector and has been involved in and responsible for several mergers and acquisitions.

  LinkedIN Profile

Board member

Mrs. Kirsten Aarup Drejer

MSc and PhD in pharmacology from the University of Copenhagen.

Board member since 2017.

Kirsten Aarup Drejer is co-founder of Symphogen A/S, a biopharmaceutical company focused on the innovative therapeutic utilization of antibodies. In the period from 2000 until 2016, Kirsten Aarup Drejer was CEO of Symphogen A/S. Before this, Kirsten Aarup Drejer held a number of scientific and managerial positions within Novo Nordisk A/S. Kirsten Aarup Drejer is a member of the board of directors of Symphogen A/S and the Danish Growth Fund and has previously been a member of the board of directors of, among others, Danisco A/S. Kirsten Aarup Drejer is a member of numerous advisory boards at the University of Copenhagen and the Copenhagen Business School. Kirsten Aarup Drejer won the prize of ”BiotechBuilder of the Year” in 2003 and ”Entrepreneur of the Year, Biotech” in 2007. 

  LinkedIN Profile